July 11, 2012

Lamoriello elected to U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame

By Jesse Connolly

Lou Lamoriello (Providence, R.I.), the CEO, president and general manager of the New Jersey Devils, has been announced as one of three members of the 2012 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame class. 

Devils GM Lou Lamoriello (Getty Images)

A member of the Devils organization for 25 years, Lamoriello has served as GM with one franchise longer than any of his counterparts in the National Hockey League. Under his guidance, New Jersey has won three Stanley Cups (1995, 2000 and 2003).

Lamoriello, who will turn 70 in October, also served as GM for Team USA in the 1996 World Cup, in which the United States won the gold medal. He is already a member of the Toronto-based Hockey Hall of Fame, which he was elected to in the builder's category.

Prior to making the jump to the NHL, Lamoriello began coaching at Providence College in 1968. In the early ‘80s, he moved up to the position of athletic director and went on to help form Hockey East. He became the league’s first commissioner. The conference championship trophy is named in his honor.

Joining Lamoriello in this year’s class are Mike Modano and Ed Olczyk.

Modano is the all-time leading U.S.-born scorer with 1,374 points in 1,499 games for the Minnesota North Stars, Dallas Stars and Detroit Red Wings. He helped lead Dallas to a Stanley Cup in 1999 over the Buffalo Sabres.

The Stars reached the finals again the following year but fell to Lamoriello’s Devils. Modano, a Michigan native, was part of Lamoriello’s squad that won gold at the World Cup in ’96.

Olczyk had 796 points in 1,031 NHL games for six clubs. He represented the United States in the 1984 Olympics in Sarajevo and was selected third overall by Chicago that summer.

The Chicago native was a member of the Rangers’ Stanley Cup-winning squad in 1994. After retiring, Olczyk served as head coach of the Penguins during the 2003-04 and 2005-06 seasons. He is now an analyst for NBC and NBC Sports Network. His son, Eddie, has played at UMass for the last three seasons.

This year’s class is the 40th group to be selected to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will be head this fall.

Jesse Connolly can be reached at jconnolly@hockeyjournal.com. Follow him on Twitter at @JesseNEHJ.