August 30, 2012

Bruins unveil national television schedule

By Jesse Connolly


Bruins forward Rich Peverley talks to NBC's Brian Engblom prior to a game at TD Garden. (Getty Images)

On Thursday, the Bruins announced their national television schedule for the 2012-13 season. 

The B's will be broadcast nationally throughout the U.S. on 17 occasions, with 13 of those tilts being exclusive, while the other four will air locally on NESN.

The Black and Gold will be broadcast a whopping 30 times up in Canada, and nine games will appear on the NHL Network. All games aired by Canadian outlets are non-exclusive, and thus will also be televised on NESN (barring any exclusive games on NBC, of course).

Here are a few more tidbits from NHL.com: 

For the second consecutive season, NHL on NBC broadcast coverage launches on Thanksgiving Friday, with the 2012 Discover NHL Thanksgiving Showdown™ featuring the Boston Bruins playing host to the New York Rangers at 1:00 p.m. ET. 

CBC's 60th anniversary season is highlighted by 101 regular-season games, including a special Thursday, Nov. 1, match-up between the Boston Bruins and Toronto Maple Leafs, just as it did in 1952 when Hockey Night in Canada first took to the TV airwaves. 

Without further ado, here's the full list: 

Bruins Games Broadcast on NBC Sports Network (all times Eastern):

Thursday, October 11 at Philadelphia, 7:00 PM
Tuesday, November 27 vs. New Jersey, 7:00 PM (non-exclusive)
Monday, December 10 at Detroit, 7:30 PM (non-exclusive)
Wednesday, January 9 at Buffalo, 7:30 PM

Sunday, January 13 at New York Rangers, 7:30 PM
Tuesday, January 29 vs. St. Louis, 7:00 PM
Monday, February 4 at Colorado, 9:00 PM
Wednesday, February 6 vs. Buffalo, 7:30 PM

Monday, March 4 vs. Montreal, 7:30 PM (non-exclusive)
Wednesday, March 27 vs. Montreal, 7:30 PM
Wednesday, April 10 at New Jersey, 7:30 PM

Bruins “Flex” Game on NBC Sports Network (Eastern Time):

Sunday, March 31 at Philadelphia, 7:30 PM

Bruins Games Broadcast on NBC (all times Eastern):

Friday, November 23 vs. New York Rangers, 1:00 PM
Sunday, February 17 at Chicago, 3:30 PM

Bruins “Flex” Games on NBC (all times Eastern):

Sunday, March 10 at Washington, 7:30 PM
Sunday, March 17 at Pittsburgh, 7:30 PM
Saturday, April 13 at Buffalo, 7:30 PM (non-exclusive)

Jesse Connolly can be reached at jconnolly@hockeyjournal.com. Follow him on Twitter at @JesseNEHJ.