March 30, 2011

UNH's Thompson named N.E. Player of the Year

Paul Thompson (Derry, N.H.) of New Hampshire (photo: UNH Media Relations)

BOSTON – Senior forward Paul Thompson (Derry, N.H.) of New Hampshire was named the Leonard Fowle MVP for New England and was also honored with the Herb Gallagher Award, given to the best forward in the region.

The announcements were made on Wednesday and will be presented at the New England Hockey Writers annual awards banquet on Wednesday, April 13, at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.

Thompson, the Hockey East Player of the Year who led the Wildcats to the NCAA quarterfinals, is the seventh UNH player to win the Leonard Fowle Award and the second in as many seasons after Bobby Butler (Marlboro, Mass.) took home the honor last year. Kevin Regan (South Boston, Mass.) won the award in 2008.

Thompson recently signed a professional contract with the Pittsburgh Penguins organization.