March 29, 2011

Pearl, York among eight finalists for Penrose Award

Staff Report

Jerry York celebrates BC's 2010 NCAA title (photo: Getty)

Holy Cross coach Paul Pearl (Winthrop, Mass.) and Boston College coach Jerry York (Watertown, Mass.) are among the eight finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the best coach in Division 1 men’s hockey.

Other finalists are Red Berenson of Michigan, Scott Sandelin of Minnesota-Duluth, Dean Blais of Nebraska-Omaha, Nate Leaman of Union, Dave Hakstol of North Dakota and Jeff Jackson of Notre Dame.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA national semifinals. Of this year's finalists, five were past recipients and one, Jackson, is both an NCAA semifinalist and a conference Coach of the Year (CCHA) this season.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. It will be presented at the

AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Fla., on April 30. The winner will be announced following the NCAA Division 1 championship scheduled for April 7 and 9 in St. Paul, Minn.